Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Unconfigured Ad Widget 7
Collapse
Christian Davis is in the Transfer Portal
Collapse
X
-
He played 3 full years at BU and one full year at LeMoyne (DII). He did not play during the Covid year (2020-21)
So is there anyone who can give some clarity on how he could get NCAA to grant another year?
- the recent NCAA juco/NAIA ruling does not apply to DII
- and if you didn't play during 2020-21 or if you already got that year as additional eligibility, then you cannot be granted another year
(that's the argument that Marcus Domask lost last year)
Comment
-
Originally posted by egib52 View PostInteresting since some believe getting an extra year is assisted by staying at the same school.
Comment
-
Originally posted by Da Coach View Post
I am seeing that some believe the opposite. There are a number of players in the portals who are in a similar position as CD, and do not appear to qualify for an extra year. But apparently, some NIL agents believe the chances are improved by the player entering the portal and are telling these kids to enter.
Comment
-
Sorry to see him wanting to leave. Would have been a big piece of next year's team pending his appeal. I look at it this way being it may be quite some time before a decision is made on his appeal. So knowing this, being a team first player, maybe he does not want BU to lose out in the portal and perhaps getting that stud post player. The NCAA may rule against him as they did with Marcus Domast. Just my opinion as I do not know what he is thinking. Any other thoughts anybody want to share.
Comment
-
Originally posted by daveineureka View PostSorry to see him wanting to leave. Would have been a big piece of next year's team pending his appeal. I look at it this way being it may be quite some time before a decision is made on his appeal. So knowing this, being a team first player, maybe he does not want BU to lose out in the portal and perhaps getting that stud post player. The NCAA may rule against him as they did with Marcus Domast. Just my opinion as I do not know what he is thinking. Any other thoughts anybody want to share.
Comment
-
Originally posted by JMM28 View PostCD's appeal will probably drag on quite a bit and involve a lawsuit. His is a bit different than Domask because of two things. 1. He was at D2. 2. His entire conference cancelled basketball that year.
CD also spent a year at prep and now 5 yrs in college, so if he gets another year, he will be 25 y/o when he finishes.
and I haven’t seen anywhere that NCAA treats DII players different from DI in regards to the COVID year or extended eligibility.
And, yes, seems every case has something that’s “a bit different”….
but every ruling so far from NCAA fits the same pattern-
— if you played in 2020-21 at any NCAA school, then that year doesn’t count against your eligibility
(they even extended that to jucos and NAIA's)
— and if you didn’t play in 2020-21, or were granted a redshirt for that year, then that year doesn’t count against your eligibility
you can’t get that year back twice
Comment
-
Originally posted by yoda View PostThe entire Ivy League also cancelled 2020-21 so none of their guys lost any eligibility but none got a full extra year.
CD also spent a year at prep and now 5 yrs in college, so if he gets another year, he will be 25 y/o when he finishes.
and I haven’t seen anywhere that NCAA treats DII players different from DI in regards to the COVID year or extended eligibility.
Comment
-
Originally posted by yoda View PostThe entire Ivy League also cancelled 2020-21 so none of their guys lost any eligibility but none got a full extra year.
CD also spent a year at prep and now 5 yrs in college, so if he gets another year, he will be 25 y/o when he finishes.
and I haven’t seen anywhere that NCAA treats DII players different from DI in regards to the COVID year or extended eligibility.
And, yes, seems every case has something that’s “a bit different”….
but every ruling so far from NCAA fits the same pattern-
— if you played in 2020-21 at any NCAA school, then that year doesn’t count against your eligibility
(they even extended that to jucos and NAIA's)
— and if you didn’t play in 2020-21, or were granted a redshirt for that year, then that year doesn’t count against your eligibility
you can’t get that year back twice
Comment
-
And since the Ivy League didn’t play that year how does that mean those kids didn’t lose eligibility? They only competed for 3 years. I still don’t understand the argument that the 20-21 COVID kids got an extra year to compete. As if the year didn’t count but the stats, wins/losses, awards, etc., sure counted. But if you didn’t compete the year is lost. Someone make it make sense please.
Comment
Unconfigured Ad Widget 6
Collapse
Comment