Maybe some have seen this play. It happened late Thursday night in an NBA game between 2 of the top Western Conference teams, Golden State Warriors and the Houston Rockets. The Houston Rockets ended up winning the game 135-134 in overtime.
But there was a play in the final 30 seconds of overtime where Kevin Durant of the GS Warriors lost control of the ball and it headed out of bounds. Durant took at least 3 or 4 steps in the out of bounds area off the court before "saving" the ball back inbounds to a teammate, who passed it to Steph Curry who made the basket to take a 2 point lead with 22 left in overtime. As noted, the Rockets ended up winning the game on a 3-pointer by James Harden, but somehow this blatant out of bounds was not called by any of the 3 referees on the court. Note from the video that 2 of the officials, on the baseline and sideline, were very close and were looking right at the play. It was even reviewed, and upheld! It is mind boggling how none of them saw that Durant was way out of bounds when he saved the ball and threw it back to a teammate.
Here is a link to the video, and some commentary by ESPN analysts-
https://twitter.com/Rachel__Nichols/...36243974230016
The NBA did issue a statement today admitting the officials got the call wrong.
Here is some interesting commentary from Scottie Pippin on ESPN today--
https://twitter.com/Rachel__Nichols/...36243974230016
But there was a play in the final 30 seconds of overtime where Kevin Durant of the GS Warriors lost control of the ball and it headed out of bounds. Durant took at least 3 or 4 steps in the out of bounds area off the court before "saving" the ball back inbounds to a teammate, who passed it to Steph Curry who made the basket to take a 2 point lead with 22 left in overtime. As noted, the Rockets ended up winning the game on a 3-pointer by James Harden, but somehow this blatant out of bounds was not called by any of the 3 referees on the court. Note from the video that 2 of the officials, on the baseline and sideline, were very close and were looking right at the play. It was even reviewed, and upheld! It is mind boggling how none of them saw that Durant was way out of bounds when he saved the ball and threw it back to a teammate.
Here is a link to the video, and some commentary by ESPN analysts-
https://twitter.com/Rachel__Nichols/...36243974230016
The NBA did issue a statement today admitting the officials got the call wrong.
Here is some interesting commentary from Scottie Pippin on ESPN today--
https://twitter.com/Rachel__Nichols/...36243974230016
Comment